China’s State Council approves 24 new Cross-Border E-Commerce Zones

China’s State Council issued, on 24 December 2019, an announcement of the State Taxation Administration [2019] No. 36 approving the establishment of 24 pilot cross-border e-commerce zones.

China had previously designated a total of 35 cities for cross-border e-commerce. The new additions will extend the pilot programme to most of China’s largest cities – Shijiazhuang, Taiyuan, Chifeng, Fushun, Hunchun, Suifenhe, Xuzhou, Nantong, Wenzhou, Shaoxing, Wuhu, Fuzhou, Quanzhou, Ganzhou, Jinan, Yantai, Luoyang, Huangshi, Yueyang, Shantong, Foshan, Luzhou, Haidong and Yinchuan.

According to the approval, these new pilot zones should replicate and promote successful practices adopted by the existing three batches of e-commerce pilot zones, and further achieve the following:

  • Introduce exemptions on value-added tax and consumption tax for retail and exported goods;
  • Actively explore business opportunities and innovate;
  • Promote industrial transformation and its upgrading;
  • Brand building;
  • Promote international trade liberalisation;
  • Facilitation and industry innovation;
  • Promote the healthy development of cross-border e-commerce throughout the country;
  • Explore new experiences and new practices; and
  • Promote a high-quality trade development.

The document was a preliminary announcement setting out general plans for how the trial zones would be constructed and replicated across the country, with guidance for the respective provincial governments government to follow.

Contact Sovereign
Get in Touch

Please contact us if you have any questions or queries and your local representative will be in touch with you as soon as possible.