Live Webinar – UK Property: Tax Planning in the new landscape


TUESDAY 21ST SEPTEMBER
UK 9.00 AM (GMT+1) / DUBAI 12.00 PM (GST) / HONG KONG 4.00 PM (HKT)


A new 2% surcharge for stamp duty land tax (SDLT) was introduced on 1 April 2021 for buyers of residential property in England and Northern Ireland where the purchaser, or one of the purchasers, is not UK resident. As a result, international investors in UK property are now likely to be taxed more heavily than their UK resident counterparts.

This seminar will be of interest to any non-UK resident persons who are interested in investing in UK property or those currently holding UK property with an existing tax exposure. As well as providing an update on UK property tax with practical planning tips, the following structures will also be explored in greater depth with supporting case studies:

Flexible Property Trusts (FPTs) for non-UK domiciles acquiring residential property (either for investment or personal use).

Family Investment Companies (FICs) for UK domiciles (resident or non-resident) acquiring UK property for investment purposes.

Overseas pension planning for residential property investment (for UK domiciles and non-UK domiciles).

Corporate solutions for commercial property.

Planning options for non-domiciled clients with both Annual Tax on Enveloped Dwellings (ATED) and Inheritance Tax (IHT) exposure from existing structures.


SPEAKERS

Simon Denton
Managing Director – Sovereign UK

Laurence Lancaster
Sovereign Group – Head of Tax

 

Contact the Author
Get in Touch

Please contact us if you have any questions or queries and your local representative will be in touch with you as soon as possible.